Sunday, February 12, 2017

The 2017 Sci-Tech Awards

The proud winners of the 89th Academy Awards Scientific and Technical Awards (Photo by Buckner/Variety/REX/Shutterstock).

Congratulations to the winners of the Technical Achievement awards!

Notable Winners

Larry Gritz for the design, implementation and dissemination of Open Shading Language (OSL).

Carl LudwigEugene Troubetzkoy and Maurice van Swaaij for the pioneering development of the CGI Studio renderer at Blue Sky Studios. Remember Bunny?

Brian Whited for the design and development of the Meander drawing system at Walt Disney Animation Studios.

Parag Havaldar for the development of expression-based facial performance-capture technology at Sony Pictures Imageworks.

Nicholas Apostoloff and Geoff Wedig for the design and development of animation rig-based facial performance-capture systems at ImageMovers Digital and Digital Domain.

Kiran BhatMichael KoperwasBrian Cantwell and Paige Warner for the design and development of the ILM facial performance-capture solving system.

Marcos Fajardo for the creative vision and original implementation of the Arnold Renderer, and Christopher KullaAlan KingThiago Ize and Clifford Stein for their highly optimized geometry engine and novel ray-tracing algorithms which unify the rendering of curves, surfaces, volumetrics and subsurface scattering as developed at Sony Pictures Imageworks and Solid Angle SL.

Vladimir Koylazov for the original concept, design and implementation of V-Ray from Chaos Group.

Luca FascioneJ.P. Lewis and Iain Matthews for the design, engineering, and development of the FACETS facial performance capture and solving system at Weta Digital.

Congratulations to all the winners - it is with your hard work that together we advance the art.

“If you want to teach people a new way of thinking, don't bother trying to teach them. Instead, give them a tool, the use of which will lead to new ways of thinking.” 

― R. Buckminster Fuller


Site Meter